Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Actually Getting to A Doctor

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
When I was younger I used to get tonsolitis. I've also had glandular fever and I've had 'strep throat' 4 times when in America. I've come down with another throaty probelm and am swollen - my glands are huge, ears and eyes hurting and feeling fatigued. I'm a bit of a work horse and know I'm not contageous so have been going in to work. I leave 6am, I get home 6pm. I'm a teacher.

So I'm swollen, fatigued and looking pretty rough. Am alright just now because I've taken some painkillers but need to see a doc.

The thing is despite having about 10 GP's in the local area (less than a mile), all have fobbed me off to my closest one (fair enough) who say they won't give me an appointment without being registered and that it takes at least 7 days to register...and then they'll give me an appointment - where because they are oversubscribed could take - yep you guessed it - 7 days. Plus I have to register in person. Between 10.30am - 12pm and 4.30pm to 5.30pm.

I live on the same road as a major hospital and my Dad told me to go to A and E but I feel like I have a sore throat - my leg is not falling off...

Can someone tell me PLEASE - what can I do? I have a course tomorrow so am intending on going to that GP afterwards (as I finish earlier) and saying that I need to see someone. My throat might be at the phase that I need anti-biotics if it doesn't settle down. I've been suffering over a week. I'm just being continually getting fobbed off over the phone :(

Comments

• Options
    Go to out of hours (evening) GP or to a pharmacists, either should be able to help.