Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Improving mental health....

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
but unemployment tricky.

This crosses over with work, but looking for thoughts. Since being ill at university I have engaged with my local MIND since university and things have improved a great deal.

They have courses on all the time through lottery funding.

I graduated in 2007 and have worked a little bit since university, but mainly voluntary stuff.

Generally I feel my mental health is ok. I saw the consultant 3 weeks ago and he's reduced the anti-psychotic I take (diagnosis of schizophrenia) after psychotic episodes in first and third year of uni.

He said he thought I'd probably be ok in terms of work as I'm pretty stable. I mean it's tricky to know what to do for the best in terms of being unemployed and making the transition. It's not easy to get a job at the moment after the credit crunch, so I'm not trying that hard and more concentrating on doing courses at MIND. I see an employment adviser from the Richmond Fellowship. I think part-time is the best way to start.

It's just tricky - the actual process of looking for work isn't exactly fun, but I think it's about balalncing looking for part time work with continuing to do productive courses at MIND.

Hopefully once I finish an advice and guidance course I am doing I'll get a job in that area as I like this work having been doing it voluntarily.

I think I've generally done the right things since university, but life for many has become more dificult since the credit cunch.

Any thoughts given the financial climate isn't great ?
What could be a good course of action ?

Comments

• Options