Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Post uni blues

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've read that its normal to feel depressed after uni. However I'm beginning to feel concerned because its been more than a year since my graduation and I don't really feel any better.

I was thrilled to leave my home town at 18 and absolutely devastated when I had to move back with my parents 3 years later. Its a cold, unfriendly place compared to where I studied. My old friends have all moved on and I am too far away to see my uni friends.

I've failed completely to make new friends (detailed in another thread) and can only get temp work. I feel completely hopeless and don't see how things can get better. I don't want to feel like this for the rest of my life but I don't know what I can do.

Comments

• Options
    Hi JanePerson :wave:

As you said, you're definitely not alone with this one! Post-uni blues are incredibly common - you suddenly have to move away from your friends, think about employment and your time's no longer mapped out for you, it can be very scary and yes, it can really get you down.

Do you have a friend you can chat to about your feelings? Maybe calling up your old uni mates or arranging a meet-up could help you see what they're up to and give you some ideas around what you want to do. Often, just meeting up with familiar faces can give you a new lease of life and get you thinking about things in a different way if you feel you've become stuck in a bit of a rut. You say in one of your other threads that you wish you could move - is there anything in particular that's keeping you in your hometown?