Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Stuck

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
yeah so i've been self-harming for 5 months and the more i do it the more i like it. I've kept it a secret from my parents and brothers and sisters. My friends really tried to help me at first but i rejected their help, i don't want to see a doctor because i don't want to change, i am not a confident or an outgoing person. But because im not listening to my friends and they really don't like it when i cut, i don't want to drive them away. I try and tell them that i like it and they shouldn't worry, but they obviously do, i can understand that. I know one day they are just going to "give up on me" and we wont be friends anymore. I only feel depressed and suicidal late at night... but i feel really good in the morning. I don't understand it and i don't understand myself anymore. Any ideas guys im stuck?

Comments

• Options
    Hi

I'm really glad you chose to share that with us. It can often be difficult to share things that are so personal to us, even anonymously. So, first of all, well done!

Self harm often becomes a coping mechanism, a way of expressing the pain we feel inside.

It is important that if you're going to self harm that you do so in a way that is safe. It is important that you are aware of basic first aid so that you can treat yourself and ensure you have a well stocked first aid kit.

Make sure that whever you are using to cut yourself is clean and have some first aid supplied nearby so when you do cut yourself you can treat the wounds. Make sure your first aid kit includes anti-septic wipes, bandages, plasters and some medical tape.

Make sure you have a phone handy just in case you need to phone for medical assisstance.