Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Self-harm and emergency care

**helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
:wave: the following request has come our way and it sounds like a really worthwhile and potentially influential piece of research...

Hi my name is Karen Cleaver. I’m a nurse with a background in accident & emergency nursing care and I’m currently undertaking a research study which is exploring the experiences of young people who self-harm when they attend an emergency department. I’m undertaking this study as I hope to be able to identify how emergency care for young people who self harm can be improved.

I’m looking to get feedback from young people on these boards who have attended an emergency department following an episode of self-harm.

You don’t have to give me any details about you, or where you live. If you don’t want to post your feedback in this thread then feel free to private message Jim V, Jo7 or **Helen** in confidence and they will pass on the feedback to me.

My study is being undertaken at the University of Greenwich and when I write it up I may use quotes from young people to illustrate my findings, but they will not in any way identify the source of the quotes. Any information given via TheSite.org will remain confidential.

If you do take part and then decide you don’t want your comments included in my study you can let **Helen** know and I would then exclude your comments from my study.

Here’s what I’d like feedback on:

1.Care received care from paramedics or an ambulance crew prior to and during transfer to the hospital. For example – how did the staff behave towards you?

2. Care received in an emergency department and similarly how the staff here behaved towards you.