Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Moving away...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey,

Basically I'm in a great long-term relationship (4 years) and we've both just moved in together this year. Here's where it gets tricky. I'm in a relatively successful band - it was going before I joined so I'm not biased here - and are planning to move to London next September to try and make something of it. As I say this isn't some pipe-dream, I know it's tough but seriously think it is worth trying; we're not just a bunch of teenagers or men who think we're pretty good is what I'm trying to get at. It's a serious decision.

Now, (as the plot thickens) I'm a hydrologist by trade and am doing my MSc this year. I'm planning on getting a consultancy job in London. It's sustainable with the band as I'm currenly juggling my course and a pretty hectic schedule. Obv. if the band made it I'd have to reconsider things!

Anyway, I digress. My gf is in her first year of university and has 2 more to go and therefore won't be moving to London this year (hopefully in two). Now I'm FULLY COMMITTED to making the LDR work because she means everything to me and she supports the bands chance to make it. Problem is ever since we've started making arrangements for making the move my gf is really upset and is crying a lot of the time.

Obviously I feel really guilty and am unsure how best to console her. She wants me to tell her things about it etc and I'm trying my best but I'm worried it's going to affect her studies. At the same time its putting emotional stress on me but I know going is the right decision. If I'm going to do it, it's best to try when young etc. I will make the relationship work (provided my GF still wants to).