Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Would You Save A Stranger?

2»

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    squeal wrote: »
    Ahh thank you :) that makes sense now.

How come you decided to stop being a paramedic?

I had to do it for a year, because I refused the military service. If you do not do military you have to do 12 months of civil service, like working in a nursing home, ambulance, kindergarden for handicapped children.

It's highly underpaid work (~30-50h/week for ~225 pounds, without free food, they raised it to 315 something pounds now tho), but a lot of public things like ambulance would not work without civil servants.

I'm studying right now and it's not a job I could do for a life time.

@shyboy:

Like already said, the simple things are the most important. You did the right thing with your dad and his seizure. Just watch that he does not hurt himself by 'seizuring' (like smashing his head into something). Some people teach to apply a lockjaw so he does not bite his tongue off, but others say that's really unlikely and makes you viable to be bitten very hard yourself. That's the advanced stuff that's not really important. The first things that come to mind are usually the best.

other example: if someone has a stroke, bring them to the ambulance ASAP. Every minute of not getting meds (that expand the bloodvessels in the brain) equals dead brain tissue. There are nifty tricks how you can easily figure out if someone has a stroke (neuro-check), but really: fuck them. you do not need them. You need to know how to make an emergency call and that's the best thing you can do (as many injuries and traumas are time dependent: the more time without help, the worse it gets).