Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Staying Sane

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I need some advice on staying sane, and holding it all together in times of stress. I've had mental health problems (self-harm) for some time ...7 years (some of you will already know this) and have been very up and down throughout the duration, it tends to be more episodic than chronic. I had a really bad breakdown just over a year ago and it took me a good 9 months to get myself on level footing, I'm in my final year so it's obviously a very stressful time but I've been really trying over the past 3 months particularly, going to all my lectures, going to the gym and going to counselling every week, once self harmed once or twice, been calling my friends when I need them etc. But lately it seems to be a case of horrrendous timing. I finished couselling last week, the university could only give me 6 sessions, I've started my exams properly and have a ton of work and exam to prepare for (I'm a language student, so everything comes at the end of the year) and well, I can just feel my sanity slowly ebbing away from me. I'm thinking about cutting more and more, and I'm wanting to drink all the time and missing some classes. I'm not currently on ADs but am planning on going back on then as of monday ( I find the first few weeks of side effects really rough and I'll be home for easter) I take seds a once or twice a week.
Any tips and hints on keeping it together? I'm trying to just take it all one week at a time but I'm really start to freak out and I'm scaring myself a little. Thanks for taking the time, sorry it got a bit long :)

Comments

• Options
    Hiya,