Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Helping a self-harmer

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

A friend has just told me they self-harm and would really like feedback from anyone who has either been in the same situation as me of trying to help someone or someone who has self-harmed in the past and has managed to stop.

I just really would like any advice that anyone can give that might help me help my friend get through their tough times.

I've never done this before and feel very nervous but so far from reading the advice on http://www.thesite.org/healthandwellbeing/mentalhealth/selfharm/supportingsomeonewhoselfharms I think I've made the right moves. I just don't want to mess up the progress made so far.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! :(

Comments

• Options
    Well just don't treat them any differently. Treat them just the same as you did before. So they don't feel that anything has changed. Because often poeple don't mean to but make them like a "Freak" or different now that people know.

Hope it helps. If would like anymore advice please private email me.
  • Options
    try not be scared about talking about it, give them time and space to talk and don't give them a hard time if they've cut cos they'll probably be ashamed anyway. don't get freaked out if they go into details. be supportive of any improvements they make and ecourage them to get help. Also, if you know the sort of thing that caused it (for example the way their parents spoke to them) try not to do that cos they might slip into thinking the same way. maybe offer to go to doctors appointments with them.

x
  • Options