Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

conventional education vs self education

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,875,648 The Mix Honorary Guru
I keep thinking about this lately, mostly because I'm at university. One of my friends is extreeemely smart and it all seems to be self taught and he reads a lot. I know education varies and is not all about books or academic success but I really admire people who go out and look for the sources to educate themselves. Ahh I hope what I am saying is clear-ish and I hope I posted in the right forum.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,875,648 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Surely at university that's what you shoud be doing anyway... University guides you to the sources, but it doesn't teach you them...
    Surely at university that's what you shoud be doing anyway... University guides you to the sources, but it doesn't teach you them...

I mean without any kind of guide apart from yourself.
    some people are really good at self directed learning. I think its a skill in itself.
    Education is something to be cherished. It definitely isn't something that should be done simply for the sake of getting a piece of paper at the end of it. Hence why I'm constantly arguing our education system has far too many exams in it. Knowledge is power - that's the crux of it.
    I like to learn and seek out stuff that actually interests me. That kind of thing always seems to stick in memory, whereas I hardly retain any of the knowledge that was forced down my throat in school in subjects I didn't care about.
    I'm always finding out about stuff that interests me. I did it alot as a child aswell and I find that I have a wider knowledge of things than alot of people my age! I often have to be taught actual skills though, but I'm pretty good at doing things myself.