Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Report: Public transport "is shit"

Well, that's not quite Transport 2000's conclusion, but it might as well be. According to the Beeb: "Public transport has too many weak links making it difficult to switch from one mode to another, a report by an environmental group has found. Travellers polled for a Transport 2000 survey said buses did not connect with train times and stations had insecure cycle parking and poorly-lit footpaths. The poll also showed only 29% thought bus timetables were clear and accurate." Click here for the details >>

I used public transport to get to and from work for several years. I have been driving for two months now. Frankly, I wished I'd learnt to drive much sooner. I hated sharing a bus home on a Saturday night with some brash, drunken moron. I hated the fact that fares seemed to go up every single year, and always in August when the tourists were around. I hated the fact the buses were slow and unreliable - miss one connection and I might have to wait two hours for the next bus. With my car, no such worries!

And I save money by using my car. To get to and from work each day by public transport (two buses) used to cost me £4.60. As I work a six-day week, that brings the cost to £27.60 per week! My car needs re-fuelling once every nine or ten days, I put £20 in it at a time. That means it costs me just £2 per day if I use the car. That's less than half the cost of going on the buses. Frankly, any politician who thinks he can get me out of my car and back onto buses can fuck off!

So, do you use public transport? If you do, what do you reckon? How much does it cost you? If not, why don't you? Over to you...
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru