Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Shyness

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello everyone, :wave: :heart: Newbie here
I know this thread is quite old. I came across this site via a google search. I was searching for information in regards to shy, and or quiet people.
I am a very quiet-shy person.
I was looking for a forum that is geared exclusively for the shy person.
I was so overwhelmed and yet excited to read some of the responses in this thread, as I'm not the only one out there with these very similar issues.
I'm so frustrated at this point with being shy and quiet.
I totally shut down in social situations fearing that I'll sound stupid. Then I stumble on words sometimes. I feel others think I'm mentally challenged, slow or whatever it's being called these days.
It's effecting me with my family. I have no friends.
I'm currently out of work.
I've been on interviews can't seem to get pass those behavior interviews.
Where one has to give examples of what one would do if were to ever face a particular problem etc.
I have a 6-year-old son it is pretty hard on him.
I don't like going to his school functions.
I don't like taking him to birthday parties.
I just feel very uncomfortable and incompetent in
intimate social interactions.
I try to avoid them all if I can help it.
I am usually the quiet one sitting alone, or sitting quietly while everyone else speaks.
Until someone addresses me that is.
It is getting where I have to be directed or guided in order to feel I'm on the right track.
My significant other has been saying. "You don't know how to communicate with people and you have a bad attitude."
He also says, I'll never be successful because of it.
On the other hand, everyone else is saying I'm too nice and I speak to softly.