Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Ear Wax buildup

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys. Lately, I've had a bad wax buildup in one ear, and it was starting to get on my nerves again. I know it's wax buildup because I've had it a few times before - being a lead guitarist I'm exposed to alot of loud music and I'm always poking to get wax out, which I know doesn't help, but it's force of habit. Anyway, I've took drops in the past and it's cleared up. This time, I've taken drops and olive oil and I've gone half deaf! It's exactly like when you get off a plane and you're waiting for your ears to pop. Anybody else had this with ear drops? Can it be normal? I'm going on holiday in 2 days and I need this sorted...

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I would suggest making an appointment to see the Nurse at your Doctors and get your ears syringed! If you are flying over the next few days it would be best to get it sorted otherwise you may feel some discomfort at altitude.
    Splodgey wrote: »
    I would suggest making an appointment to see the Nurse at your Doctors and get your ears syringed! If you are flying over the next few days it would be best to get it sorted otherwise you may feel some discomfort at altitude.

It's okay, I'm driving, not flying. I just meant I don't want this bugging me for the whole of the holiday or it will piss me off! I reckon it's probably too short notice for my useless doctor now...
    Do you have anyone near by that does candle waxing or anything like that?
    squeal wrote: »

No!
    It's worth a shot for the doctor/practise nurse. You can often get nurse appointments short notice.

Or I think walk in centres do it.