Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Feeling triggered and overwhelmed by my kind team leader

gillgill Posts: 6 Confirmed not a robot
edited December 2022 in Work & Study
hi, this is my first time posting here.

I wanted to get some advice on feeling triggered, frustrated and angry with my boss (team leader) at work.

Im interning at a charity right now, and the people there are all very kind.

Im working as a intern part time, creating events for charity goers, and it takes a lot of prepping to get these events going.

I work in a team with my team leader, another girl and myself (2 of us are interns)- the three of us, and i have trouble dealing with my team leader.
I feel confused because she is very kind hearted but, unintentionally - what she does exhausts, frustrates and triggers me a lot. and its confusing because I'm usually a very chill person.

the things she does that triggers me:

- she gives un-asked for advice
(we will ask eachother how our weekend was, if i say anything negative like I ate too much celebrations (as a joke), she will go on and on about im lacking this vitamin or not as she's a homeopath)

- She makes everything "her" story
(if i talk about any slightest struggle (small talk), she will go off talking about when something like ithat happened to her - and how she felt about it, when i thought i was being listened to/ just talking about my experience).

- she has no boundaries of work
Even on our off sick, days off, she will call and text us to do some work, we have to sit and have a meeting etc. During our break time she will keep talking about work non stop. (i will set my boundaries telling her im too sick to work, but she will ask the other intern to sit in - even though she was sick too, constantly text us on our days off to "just check over something (PS. this wouldnt happen if there was a plan) etc)