Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Am I being silly or do I need help?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello,
I am new to the message board as I have decided to be proactive about seeking help and advice. I have never labelled myself as having an eating disorder but I guess that is what it is. I have a really negative relationship with what I label 'bad food'. If I eat a tiny bit of (food type) I get quit stressed and feel anxious and worried that I am going to put on weight and will feel very guilty and negative towards myself that I wasn't able to resist and have no self control. I am very self critical of my body, my thighs especially and avoid wearing certain clothes some days that I think draw attention to my thighs like jeans and am constantly looking at how my legs look in mirrors or Windows when I walk by. I tend to plan what I am going to eat the day before or a couple of days before and try to eat about (number) calories a day and go to the gym (number). I am a healthy weight so have always thought that people wouldn't take me seriously because I don't look particularly thin. Before I started university I was about (weight) heavier and less obsessed with how I look but since I lost the weight I worry I will put it back on easily. I feel the urge sometimes to make myself sick after eating these bad foods but I still don't like having these thoughts. I was just wondering if anyone has a similar experience as I have only ever discussed this with my boyfriend and he often just thinks I'm being silly which doesn't really help!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru