Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Breastfeeding & Peer pressure?!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi all, I'm a student midwife in my final year and have been looking at breastfeeding influences and in particular I'm looking at peer pressure.

I just wanted to ask some people their views/stories about breast feeding & peer pressure really to gauge the impact and the effect of this.

Really appreciate any help :)

Comments

• Options
    I personally think that if breasts were designed to dispense milk for babies, then surely that has to be the best thing to do. I believe as they say that breast is best. It also allows closer bonding between mother and child.

However if a woman is uncomfortable with breast feeding, if they or the baby have issues with it, or for whatever reason it just isnt working out then you have to go with bottle fed.

I guess feeding time on a bottle allows a father a little more of a chance to bond with a child (in the fathers mind), however a well looked after child should make little difference to the ability for fathers to bond with.

All in all breast feeding is what is supposed to happen, but I don't think that it is the best if breast feeding does cause problems for mother and/or child.
  • Options
    im not expecting or anything but have always been fearful of breastfeeding as my mum has always told me its really painful. Im aware that breastmilk is good for the baby and family members (except mum) have always said i should breastfeed coz its the best thing for the baby and the debate sometimes get heated.
  • Options