Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Personal Trainer - your experiences?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I have been considering joining a gym lately but knowing how weak willed I can be when it comes to physical exercise I thought it would be a good idea to look into getting a personal trainer. I thought if I had an appointment to see a personal trainer every week not only would it give me a good reason to stick to going to the gym but give me someone to pace me and challenge me and hopefully help to record my achievements. This is my idea of what a personal trainer might do, but as I have little experience of this kind of stuff I wanted to know what people's experiences were.

So has anyone had a personal trainer, if so what was it like, did it help you achieve what you set out to do? Are there bad points other than expense?

Comments

• Options
    Most gyms will offer you a personal training program anyway and the instructors in my experience are more than happy to help so its probably not worth the extra expense of getting a private one...
  • Options
    I see, thats a good point...but I still think I need the commitment of a personal trainer appointment to ensure I go! I'm so weak!!!
  • Options
    id say go for it...i had one for a while and she was amazing, she did a body profile/assesment, talked to me about what i enjoy and what i am good at and worked with what i wanted to do. She was good in that she even woke me up in the morning to make sure i got there on time (im a lazy cow and sleep till 2pm easily). Personal trainers are also good if you give up easily, because they do this whole pep talk thing which makes you realise exactly what you were trying to achieve in the beginning.