Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

I feel insecure in the things i love doing

This really applies to anything I do, but the biggest fears for me are from drums. Keep in mind I have been professionally diagnosed with depression and severe OCD, I am on meds. I started learning how to play last year spring and I got to use my grandpa's old kit since he used to play. We keep the kit in a room next to our living room on the 1st floor. When I started I had so much motivation and I got pretty good pretty quickly, but since the end of summer of last year my I got so depressed I barely touch the kit nowadays. I go to a drum school too and I was sad to disappoint my teacher telling him I can't drag myself to go play. Don't get me wrong, I love playing the drums! But I just get so depressed and I can't force myself to do anything, I'm scared to do bad, even though I know that comes with growing, I'm terrified of it. Plus, my mom used to drink a lot in the living room since she's an alcoholic, thankfully she's in recovery now but it's been going on for years, and I just don't want to go downstairs because I just despise her when she drinks and I don't want to go to places that associate with that. I also have friends who have started playing much later than me, but they play so much better than me, they have great groove, they understand the rudiments better and in general they are really good. I'm happy for them obviously but I hate myself for not being on the same level as them after so long. Then again of course I'm not gonna improve if I only play by myself once a month at most. They, unlike me, actually cared and practised. I get so scared to go practise but I hate myself for not doing it. I feel so below everyone. Why am I so scared of doing it? I've been trying to force myself to go practise these