Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Scared of hurting or frightening my partner.

finnfinn Posts: 12 Settling in
Hi,
I have a really embarrassing issue and i'm worried that it will force me girlfriend into leaving me. I adore her and always want whats best for her and so i'm hoping to pick some brains on here, to see if by any chance someone else has experienced the same issues or just by getting some tips on how i can tackle the problem head on.

Long story short, i'm scared of hurting my partner during sex and so.. we just don't have sex. There has been many of times where we've been close but i always bring it to an end by telling her that i'm just not ready. She is understanding, she is great but i know that she won't want to wait for me forever. She has already asked me whether its because i don't find her sexually attractive and i do, i definitely do i just don't want to hurt her.

It's not something i have ever talked about with her but from the age of 8-13 i was sexually abused by a family friend and so for me, for many years any sexual attention i received was scary and at times excruciatingly painful. I know it's different circumstances but i don't want her to feel the same way that i did and i don't want her to hate me the same way that i hated the person who hurt me. It's difficult to explain but i hope this makes sense.

I wonder maybe, whether it is just because i'm not yet ready or whether i'm just better off single.

Comments

• ThePigeonsThePigeons Posts: 199 Trailblazer
    So sorry you had to go through that. I experienced something similar but was afraid that it would hurt me. I think talking about it would help in that you could find a way together to make this work. So you can take little steps and see what makes you feel more at ease.