Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Anxiety Overload

Evelyn360Evelyn360 Posts: 82 Budding Regular
I've been suffering with immense anxiety the last few weeks and I've been finding it really hard to cope. My mind literally feels fragmented trying to keep my thoughts on anything other than the anxiety otherwise I fear the kind of hole I'll fall into or the breakdown I'll have. 

It's hard because I know that it's my job that gives me anxiety and I know the things I should be doing to help combat it but I dont want to do those things. It makes it difficult to talk about because I dont want to be told to do the things I know I should be doing but I choose not to and not helping myself. I mean how are you supposed to help someone who wont help themselves.. 

I work in finance and I find it really overwhelming because any little mistake I make has big consequences. I've worked there for just over a year now and I cant stop constantly thinking I should know more than what I know and be better at my job. I constantly tell myself how useless I am and get really frustrated with myself. I know lots of people will say to find another job, its not worth it but I dont want to. The hours are really good, the money is semi-decent and I get sick pay and overtime if I have to stay late. I also don't feel comfortable talking to my manager about it because I've never been able to open up about my mental health to anyone before. 

I've dealt with depression for as long as I can remember and I've always been able to hide it and just get on. I know how that feels and when things are getting bad, in some ways it's like a comfort blanket. Its just part of who I am. This however, is only something I've only really noticed within the last year and a half/ 2 years and I feel like I'm literally at my wits end.