Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Need some help/advice with mum issues

Evie93Evie93 Posts: 2 Newbie
Ok hey all, I'm new to this but I'm coming to the end of my patience.

So a very long story short, me my mum and younger brother were all emotionally and physically abused by my dad. He was arrested and removed from the home over 10 years ago now.

I have since moved out to live with my boyfriend and now live about 45 minutes from my mum and younger brother. The reason I trying to ask for help is beacuse I have been diagnosed with depression and anxiety, but I'm not sure if how I'm feeling is right. My mum will always complain to me and family memebers/friends that she doesn't see me enough, I visit at least once a week even though I work 6 days a week. In the 7 months since I have moved out, she has visited me 3 times.

She can be quite verbally abusive and then tends to cry if confronted. She is the same with my brother when he goes out and she can quite often hit below the belt (i.e. comment on weight, comment on how we look, compare us to our dad etc).

I am now at the point where I am very tired with trying to keep her happy, but also do not want to abandon her as she herself has been through a lot.....

Any advice would be greatly appreciated xx:no:

Comments

• Options
    Lucy307Lucy307 Posts: 1,171 Wise Owl
    Hi @Evie93

Firstly, welcome and thank you for sharing here, and I'm so sorry to hear that you went through that.