Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

New member - long time mental health

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi all,

This is my first time using this so please bear with me.

So background info: (its long I'm sorry!)

I am a long time sufferer of severe anxiety. Ever since I was a very small child I have lived in fear of EVERYTHING. I mean everything to this day a lot of things take a lot of effort to overcome. Just leaving my room or going downstairs or walking to work or having people talk to me or ask my train ticket, what if I fall over, what if something bad happens. Put it this way I never relax. I've always been in the mind of everything has to be perfect and I'm nothing near to that... albeit I can comprehend that we all have flaws about us that make us so painfully human. So I'm still aware of both perspectives. I just worry a lot.

Well I had a tough childhood (for me that is) my family were emotionally abusive, came from a background of insults will make you stronger, tears show you are weak- I'm sure you know what I mean by that. I was also a military child so I moved around loads which fitting in became difficult because I had become mean and angry... because that was very much the situation at home. I can remember from when I was about 3 years old being called a cow and progressively that turned into more rude and swear word kinda things... yep. So making friends did not come easy! and it still doesn't I struggle to behave "appropriately". which is because I am more open now. I share anything and everything and that can put people off but it just seems normal to just talk openly about everything. I don't know.