Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Unemployment is getting me really down...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
My name is Christina. I am 27 and I have a BSc and MSc, I have done years of voluntary work in the charity sector for big and small charities. Following the end of my last job (where I was high up management for an NGO in Madagascar) I have been back in the UK looking for work. I am getting really down as I am just not getting any feedback other than negative despite the fact that I feel more than qualified for the jobs I apply for. Also having come back to the UK following 2 years working overseas I have no real friends or hobbies here and have left my friends, my dog and the children and families I worked with every day behind. I am running out of money and finding it harder and harder to maintain a routine and not allow my negative mood to push away the few people I do have around me. I don't know what I expect people here to say really, but I am having a bad day and haven't even sent off one single application today. I wonder if anyone has any magical job-hunting secrets to share?

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Just keep applying for jobs and you''ll land one eventually. :)

Maybe re-write your CV or have it professionally written.

Write to some companies to ask if there are any jobs, and why you want to work there.

I know what it feels like when to one contacts you about a job. I'm going through it myself.....and now that there are only certain jobs I can apply for, due to my health, it's even harder because either I don't have the right qualifications or they are out of date.

No friends? Are you on facebook? Why not connect with old friends?
  • Options