Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Double standards and legalisation.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Sorry, I'm not very good at the whole debate thing, so you aren't goign to get a post full of stats and links and quotes, and other resources, but I do have a memory.

This morning, I was watching Heaven and Earth (hmm, yes...) and they had a feature on Rastafarianism. According to their beliefs, cannabis is a very important and sacred plant ( it grew on the grave of some prophet guy apparently), and that is why places like Jamaica where it is the belief of the majority of the country, cannabis is legal. So why not here?

Carrying a weapon around is illegal, yes? But Sikh's are allowed to carry a small knife because it is part of their religion ( the "5 K's) and so the government felt obliged to let Sikhs have the option to carry one. Yet, in a religion where getting high is almost as important as praying, there are no exceptions. If a Rastafarian went around town smoking ganga, he would be arrested for possession and the like.

NB I am not a Ratafarian, I was just wondering why the government is allowed to get away with these double standards.

Comments

• Options
    I might well be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that cannabis is actualy illegal in Jamaica, it was legal, years ago, but pressure was put upon them by the US because so much was being smuggled from there.

As for the wepons that Sikhs carry, that is still illegal, you'll find most will only have a small necklace of the dagger that they should carry. This is because as far as I know the size is not mentioned, therefore you can carry a very small one and still be within the word of the religion.
  • Options
    I've done a bit of research and I'm pretty sure that cannabis comes under the 'Dangerous Drugs Act' in Jamaica, which makes it illegal.