Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Making friends

[ mods, feel free to move this to a different forum if inapproprate ]

Meeting people? I feel as though I'm really bad at doing this at present. I've always relied on house-shares or student halls as a first point of call for making friends. I graduated last year, moved back to my university town (Stafford) and managed to get a job, finally! I was living in a student house with some of my previous year mates and had a wicked time.

Now that the academic year is over, I have moved out into a normal house-share. Three other blokes share the house. Two of them are in their mid-40s and the other one is late 20s. I've lived here for five weeks now and haven't got very far with them. One goes home every weekend, and the other two work night shifts. Although I studied and lived in Stafford for several years, it seems like a completely new town, now that I don't know anyone there anymore.

Does any of The Site people know of social clubs? I know a lot of them involves sports i.e. a local football or rugby club but I'm very visually impaired and not allowed to play contact sports. I am willing to travel out as far as Wolverhampton, Stoke-on-Trent, maybe even Birmingham, or going the other way, Stockport. I've checked out the RNID's web site (I'm deaf too) without much information about social events. Also the RNIB's web site used to have a bulletin board but that's gone now.

I don't want to go as far as dating agencies, but perhaps something similar where you meet friends instead of dates if it exists.

Any help much appreciated.
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    :chin: