Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

cant get a job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I dont know how posting this will help but im getting so upset and annoyed because i cant get a job anywhere:( . I have been working at my present two jobs for 3 years (im 18) and been wanting to quit them for ages but wanted to wait till i had a new job lined up before i quit them. well i ended up quiting them both the other week because i couldnt take waiting for a new job any longer coz i hate my jobs so much. I have applied to 4 different places (waited a month for replies) now and even been to a temping agent and i cant get a job. its really getting me down because my parents keep having a go at me for not working even though they know how hard im trying to get a job and i have only been not working for 3 days now. Even when i was working a saturday and two evenings (at school as well) they said it wasnt enough. to make it worse i have debts of 350 quid to pay off before the summer and i dont know how the hell im going to do it at this rate:(

Comments

• Options
    Job hunting can get so demoralising, can't it...

I suggest you pop along to your local careers centre with your current CV and any copies of covering letters you may have written and get them to do the once over on them. I don't know what kind of work you are trying to get so I can't give specific advice.

Anyway a one-to-one session should sort you out, give you pointers on where to look for work and how to nail the job. Have you rung the places you applied to to see if they have filled the positions you applied for? Some places can take a while, so it may be worth a polite chase-up to check where you stand.

We've also got stacks of advice here

Susie :)
  • Options
    keep it up!

Smile!