Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

struggling to cope with my mums emotions

littleredlittlered Posts: 1 Just got here
Hi all,

My parents split when I was about 17 (I'm now 23 so it's been a while). My mum has 3 other children, all of whom are adults with their own lives.

Myself and my younger brother still live with my mum and her husband. I see my dad regularly, about once a week. Sometimes I have to make difficult decisions and choose between them. For Christmases I try to take it in turns between my mum and dad. Last year was my mums turn so this year should be my dads year.
However, I now work in healthcare and will be working late shifts Xmas eve, xmas day and boxing day. Months before i knew my rota I booked time off after xmas to go on holiday with my dad. They wouldnt let me have new years day off so I was going to fly home early.

When mum found out I was working over xmas and then going away with my dad she was fuming. She thinks none of her kids want to spend time with her and she is constantly complaining about it, sometimes crying and often making snide comments.

This sort of thing happens all the time when i want to spend time with my dad and im sick of it. I just dont want to live here any more and I need to move out asap. im saving hard but its not going to happen for months at least.

Someone has now offered to cover my new years day shift which means i can stay on holiday with my dad. I dont even know how to tell my mum, im even considering waiting until im on holiday to tell her.

also, my great-grandfather just died and his birthday will be happening whilst im on the prolonged holiday so it will be nice to spend time with my dad and my nan on that day.