Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Need some advice

DandelionDandelion Posts: 1,911 Extreme Poster
edited December 2022 in Health & Wellbeing
So from about Thursday I’ve had a massive cold, just blocked nose, ears, headache etc. Yesterday I took the day off work and my manager said if I developed a cough or fever I’d have to get tested as I work in a hospital. I have now got a chesty cough and a sore throat which I think is just part of my cold. I also can’t smell or taste things very well, which also could just be cause my nose is blocked. Whilst I’m almost 100% certain it’s a cold as my sister had one earlier this week and tested negative for COVID I just don’t know whether I should get tested to be sure. 

I asked my mum if I can book one and she said no, which means I have no way of getting to a test centre even if I do book one. I’m just not really sure what to do.
The steps you take don’t need to be big, they just need to take you in the right direction. 
Post edited by TheMix on

Comments

• GreenTeaGreenTea Posts: 12,938 Born on Earth, Raised by The Mix
    edited September 2020
    You can book one. It's the same where I work, even if it's a cold, if the symptoms match covid too, you have to provide a negative test to return to work, or take 14 days off and it's unpaid. You can ring 119 to book a test.
    You're manger might tell you similar about not being able to return unless providing a negative test
  • DandelionDandelion Posts: 1,911 Extreme Poster
    GreenTea said:
    You can book one. It's the same where I work, even if it's a cold, if the symptoms match covid too, you have to provide a negative test to return to work, or take 14 days off and it's unpaid. You can ring 119 to book a test.
    You're manger might tell you similar about not being able to return unless providing a negative test