Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Please Share Experience With CAMHS

maddie050maddie050 Posts: 47 Boards Initiate
edited October 2019 in Health & Wellbeing
Hey all! im Maddie, i'm 13. i'm giving @Aife credit for sharing this supportive idea, since i'm new to CAMHS, i wanted to ask some questions, and hear about your experience or experiences with CAMHS. So far, ive had one meeting. They said they would try and get me a CAMHS worker, so my first question would be, what is a CAMHS worker, and what do they do? And another question would be, what is the next step?

if you like, you can even say if CAMHS was 'Good', 'Alright', 'Bad' or 'Terrible'. and your opinion matters to me. <3

Take care, and please comment your experiences or experience and answers (to my questions). It means a lot, i'm kind of stuck.

- Maddie
Sometimes space and time is the cure, but all it is, is Support, Passion, Love and Belief.

Comments

• Options
    SienaSiena Posts: 15,497 Skive's The Limit
    Heyy!

ive was under CAMHS and i think theyre really good. They care a lot more than the adult services ever did and i never had to wait to see them either started the same week as refereal.  But obviously different outcomes for different people & areas. A camhs worker would just be someone you see every so often and get to know you / your challenges to see where to go from there. Ie therapy ect. And just someone who co ordinates your care. I saw my camhs worker every week for a year and had some other support in there like home treatment team and they was good. 

Hope that helps!