Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Studying for Exams with Anxiety

RachelRachel Posts: 27 Boards Initiate
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to all of this but I thought that I should finally give this a go and hopefully someone will have some advice for me.

About three months ago I began having panic attacks. To begin with I had no clue what it was, and assumed it was an asthma attack as it was during a netball game, but a visit to the doctor made things clearer. I was told to wait and see as it may have been a one off, and so I went back to school and netball practise the following day with the hope that it would just disappear. But it really didn't and my feelings of anxiety along with panic attacks have become more and more frequent over the past month. A while ago I did go back to see my doctor who did confirm that I must be suffering with anxiety and referred me to CAMHS. My appointment is in a months time, which really isn't long at all, but I have been struggling more and more recently and just don't know what to do.

Concentrating in classes without becoming panicked has become difficult and I've had to leave a number of classes because of this. I even had to walk out of my school's ceilidh the other night which until that point was so much fun, and I can't understand what could have possibly caused a panic attack in that situation. My main worry is my preliminary exams, or mocks as some schools call them, which are straight after the Christmas holidays. I'm really worried about how they are going to go, especially since my first appointment with CAMHS is not until after. Studying is difficult as I just get stressed, I don't seem to memorise things as easily as I did with studying last year, and I am really worried about what might happen if I have a panic attack during or before my prelims.