Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Being employed with bipolar disorder

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I was wondering what it is like working when you have bipolar disorder, is it hard to sustain a job? Has anyone had any positive or negative experiences with being hired and if so, how have others treated you during your working hours? Or maybe you haven’t disclosed that you have the condition? I apologise if I’ve asked a lot of questions, I just want to understand from someone else’s viewpoint since I don’t have bipolar disorder and I’m still a young student. icon_redface.gif

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hey @AesraFaris :wave:

Some interesting questions you have posted there; do you perhaps know somebody with the condition and looking to understand what it might be like, or are you just curious? :chin:

There may be some members on here who might share their experiences. In the meantime, you might be interested in taking a look at our article: Learning to cope with bipolar disorder at university. It's not much to do with employment but is an interesting read :yes:
  • Options
    plugitinplugitin Posts: 2,197 Boards Champion
    Hi AesraFaris,

I think it can depend to some extent on how severe your symptoms manifest themselves during the working day or the extent to which they can be treated, either by medication, therapy or reasonable adjustments.

I'd also say whether you are new to the company or have worked there a while may mean the company's response may be a little different.