Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

A bit of a health update (and hopefully some reassurance) from me

**helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
Hi all :wave:

This is a tricky post to write as so much has happened in the last few months - both in terms of my health and with YouthNet more generally - so it's hard to know where to start. However, I've known some of you longer than some of my best friends, so it's important to me to let you know what's going on - I've seen you all through some ups and downs and continue to do so - and although I'm a professional ;) I do respect you enough to trust you with this information.

I was diagnosed with breast cancer back in the summer. I didn't see it coming, but it does run in the family so wasn't entirely a shock. Luckily early intervention and good breast awareness means it was caught early - for those of you who might be familiar with terminology around this, it was stage two and it didn't reach my lymph nodes which was an incredible relief. So I had surgery fairly quickly to remove the tumour - the operation was successful and although I'm not fully recovered, I'll use that word lucky again - because that's really how I feel a lot of the time at the moment.

So right now I'm in the treatment stages to catch any remaining cells and to help prevent a recurrence. I've had my first dose of chemotherapy and unfortunately it's been a really rough ride. The good news I've been well looked after and the sessions happen in three week cycles, so I have low weeks and better weeks. I'm on my way to a better week as we hit Christmas which I couldn't be happier about.