Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Reassurance needed....

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting :) After reading the support and guidance offered from other writers I decided I needed it in my life to hopefully give back and to gain support when needed by you friendly lot.

So here goes..

I recently left my secure job due to the challenging nature and feeling like I could not deal with the stresses in my personal life and the need to put on a brave face when inside your dying from sheer lack of support from management. I needed some time off so I went to the doctor and she signed me off for 2 weeks, I knew by this point that I wasn't going to return so I decided to hand my notice in. One of my managers was really supportive at first and told me to get a sick note up until my notice had ran out... so I had been at home for 5 weeks desperately trying to find another job.

Its coming up to Christmas and this year is even more special.... my boyfriend and I are celebrating our 10 year relationship on Christmas day so we are flying out to the states - something I should be desperately excited about... but I'm not :( You see I suffer with perfectionism and due to not having a secure job that pays well (I am currently working temporarily in admin on £7.00 an hour) I feel like I cannot be happy.

I should feel extremely lucky and so excited for this festive period but because I know things aren't how I want them to be I'm currently sitting at my desk feeling depressed even with just 6 days to go into we fly out! I feel so guilty towards the rest of the population that are worse off than me that it makes it worse because I know I am very fortunate but I cant help the way I feel I suppose.