Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Unemployment is getting me really down...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
My name is Christina. I am 27 and I have a BSc and MSc, I have done years of voluntary work in the charity sector for big and small charities. Following the end of my last job (where I was high up management for an NGO in Madagascar) I have been back in the UK looking for work. I am getting really down as I am just not getting any feedback other than negative despite the fact that I feel more than qualified for the jobs I apply for. Also having come back to the UK following 2 years working overseas I have no real friends or hobbies here and have left my friends, my dog and the children and families I worked with every day behind. I am running out of money and finding it harder and harder to maintain a routine and not allow my negative mood to push away the few people I do have around me. I don't know what I expect people here to say really, but I am having a bad day and haven't even sent off one single application today. I wonder if anyone has any magical job-hunting secrets to share?

Comments

• Options
    GregGreg Deactivated Posts: 50 Boards Initiate
    Hi Christina,
    I'm really sorry about what you are going through. Its really unfortunate that you have those degrees and still can't find a job. Please know that you are not alone and this is a big problem here in the UK.

If you're interested, we offer many articles about job hunting and work information. Please check them out at http://www.thesite.org/work-and-study/getting-a-job,self-employed,your-career-path.

What field have you been trying to work in? It can be really hard being away for so many years and having to make new friends, do you have any ideas on what you can do to meet new people?
  • Options
    Greg wrote: »