Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Should I look for help?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey guys
Ive been hiting depression on and off for a few years now, and recently ive turned to cutting my arm, a few of my friends know however i havent told my parents.
I dont think th cuts themselves are too serious but i dont know wether to ask for help or not.
Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    Hi there
    Welcome to TheSite, and well done for posting, it's not always easy to open up about such personal matters.

It's good that you feel able to talk to some of your friends about the self-harm. Do you find it helps to talk to them? Sometimes, when you're feeling the urge to self-harm, it can really help if you have a friend you can call or text or email to talk you through it, or even to distract yourself.

Can I ask if there is anything in particular that is making you feel depressed? You ask if you should seek help - perhaps talking things through with your doctor would be a good first step. If you don't feel able to do that just yet, there are some really good helplines that you could call and be totally anonymous and they'll listen without judging or blaming.

Sane runs a mental health helpline on 0845 767 8000.

Also, we run regular support chat sessions here on TheSite - maybe it would help to join one of those and get to know some of the other users here a bit better? The details of all chat sessions are here.

Spanner
  • Options
    Hi

My friends where less help than i thought they would be, i only realy have two who i can really talk to about it.