Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

I'm scared of going to my GP for help with self-harming

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been self-harming for quite a long time. But lately what I used to do doesn't really help anymore, my ways have become a bit more severe and I think it's probably time I tried to get some real help. My only problem is I have so many dreams for my future I'm still a student and I'm scared having self-harm on my records may stop me acheiving my goals. Can someone please shed some light on this situation?
Many thanks someone who needs your advice xxxxx

Comments

• Options
    hello,

i don't know exactly what you mean by having self-harm 'on your records'... do you mean your medical records? if you do then it's entirely confidential and no future employer would get access to them without your permission, and even then if it was an issue in the past then it isn't very likely to be a problem. most employers wouldn't need to see your medical records anyway - it's more likely that you would fill in an occupational health form and declare yourself fit to work. at the end of the day, you are more likely to fail to achieve your goals because you are struggling for a long time with self-harm than because you got some help to overcome it.

if you are motivated for change then please go to your GP and see what services are available to you. as you've found out, the longer you leave it, the worse it gets.
  • Options
    :wave:
    I can understand why you're scared, I was absolutely terrified! But really, it's not as bad as you think it will be :)
    When it comes to your gp office, what happens in vegas stays in vegas. *cough*