Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

What to do - the ex?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi all I'm new to this but am looking for some advice really ...

Basically I was with my ex for a few months, we done the long distance thing which was hard but when we were together it was great like we had never been apart and we both quite liked the distance. We ended up splitting up as I kind of got freaked out as things began to get more serious and I let friends interfere and found excuses to end things. It all got pretty bitter and we didn't communicate for a few months.

Recently I have distanced myself from these 'friends' and me and my ex have been back in contact again, we have been getting on really well he's been calling me alot just for catch ups, but certain things he'd say/txt such as 'thinking of you' have got me wondering where things are heading. I haven't pushed the topic but he opened up to me about the relationship and said he wished friends hadn't interfered and wonders where we would be now. He did move on quite quickly with a new girl who he was with for a few weeks but things didn't work out and has admitted to me that this was a rebound as he was so angry about what happened with us and just looked for ways to get at me.

This probably sounds really cheesy but he is an amazing guy, we get on so well, and can be so honest with each other. He's the type of guy I could see myself settling down with, kids and marriage etc. (although haven;t admitted this to him) When I think about the chance of me and him again I get 'butterfly's' and feel excited but also have this voice bringing me back to reality as things obviously didn't work before, is it worth trying again?

I just really don't know what to do ... I can feel us getting closer again but don't want to push things.