Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Depression- hard to see light at the end of the tunnel

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello, I’m new to the site-
I’m a nineteen yearold student, who’s been diagnosed with severe depression- is possibly bipolar since I seem to suffer from manic periods too and basically I’ve been through a hell of a couple of months, well a hell of nineteen years if you want to get technical.

In January I took an overdose in a toilet in a club and wandered into an alley to die. I did this because I didn’t want my family- who are very religious- to think I’d committed suicide. At the time, and upon reflection it was a very stupid line of thought, I assumed that if I took a two lines of methadone, the 48 paracetemols I had bought and washed it down with a bottle of vodka smuggled into the club that it would be dismissed as an accidental overdose. I spent a week meticulously planning what I thought would be the last night of my life-strange since I didn’t really have the energy to do much of anything else and for the first time in a long time I was happy .

It went a bit tits up though, and I was found and taken to hospital. I spent the night in hospital on my own, no one knew I was there, not my family or the friends I had abandoned in a club- they simply assumed I had gotten off with someone, as during my better periods I am promiscuous and often go home with strangers without telling them, so they weren’t worried. It was horrible in the hospital, and I vowed to myself that I would never end up there again. For me this was a simple decision, I would do what I had to to satisfy the doctors who contacted my GP and the next time I tried to kill myself I would do it properly, without the risk of being found.