Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Meeting people offline

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I have never done this before.

There's someone I've been talking to online for about 6.5 years. He said something to me a few weeks ago on Facebook, which I managed to take completely the wrong way, (nothing unusual there) which lead to me asking if he wanted to meet me or something.

He said it's fine; but we have to meet in a public place.

We discussed this again on Wednesday/Thursday and he gave me the name of a place where we could meet. (I had to ask where this was)

Now, is there anything else we ideally need to do? I have read the articles on here; but can't find much else from them.

Comments

• Options
    Maybe let someone you know you're going and where you'll be.

Be careful if he's plying you with alcohol.

I think though that after 6.5 years you would be safer than if it was only 4 months, if he was only looking to drug you or something he would've suggested it alot earlier and probably left you alone when you said no. (just an opinion though)
  • Options
    I've done meet-ups for the following:

- World of Warcraft (cafés in London and my town)
    - Sundissential (club event, so obviously at nightclubs)
    - B2T (also a club event)
    - Ukrides (roller coaster community, at fairgrounds)
    - TheSite.org (user name "Stafford", local dance class)

If the places are public, like my above examples, then I'd say go for it :-) My World of Warcraft was the best example, ganing me some friends I consider to be amongst my best, who I now see a few times a year.
  • Options