Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Tips for scars

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
heya. does anybody know any tips for self-harm scars?
im gonna be going to mexico during march break and that means bathing suits and skirts with tank tops. i've been self-harming for almost 2 years now and some of my scars are still visible.

can anybody give me tricks to minimize the apperance of scars in order to avoid questions about them(the people im going with dont know about my s/h)
im leaving in 3 months so anything that works fast...

Comments

• Options
    fake tan? laser treatment? tights or some similar material?, you might even set off a trend.. tricky one... all the best and look after yourself, much love
  • Options
    Not sure if it is available in Canada but lots of people swear by a product called bio oil
  • Options
    If they've healed and gone a pinky white / brown colour, you can use make-up. But don't use make up on fresh cuts.
  • Options
    Amira wrote: »
    bio oil

this, or calamine lotion. they are both quite cheap and if you use them every day they can be quite good. scar reduction patches are not very good considering how expensive they are. also expose your skin to sunlight as often as you can. be aware though that you won't get rid of your scars in three months, you should be able to reduce the redness but (depending on their severity) your scars will be there for a while. but hopefully in time you will learn to accept them as a part of who you are.
  • Options
    heya guys. do u think the bio oil is available in canada? i also heard that shea butter helps. is that accurate?
  • Options