Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Wanting to drop a module

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Can someone please tell me if the following is allowed:

I am struggling a lot with one of my modules and have spoken to my head of programme about this. He said I can either withdraw and do another course next year, or carry on and change course next year.

If I withdraw now, it's going to cause me a lot of problems financially, as I have rent to payup until June and won't be able to get benefits, as I am still classed as a full time student.

Whatever happens, I am going to change course next year.

Does anyone know if I can drop a module? What would happen (if anything) with student finance?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Things may have changed since I studied, but I was able to change my course and still get funded. However, what I couldn't do was complete a course, and then switch to a different one.

So you may need to make sure that you don't finish the module.
  • Options
    Some of it will depend on what you mean by changing course next year, and whether you're looking to start a new course completely afresh, or move over onto the second year of another course.

If you've transferring rather than starting afresh you will probably find that you need to pass this year, which will require taking all the modules. If you're starting afresh, then you probably won't need that module, but you'll need to check that you'll get funding for the extra year. Generally getting funding for one extra year is ok for whatever reason, but it's not guarenteed so worth checking.
  • Options