Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

bi polar

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
i think i may have bi-polar
im not a doctor, but i researched and i have many symptoms.
i went to the doctor and she told me i wasnt depressed because i dont look depressed, even though my past history of self harming and having counselling prescribed by a doctor.
she threw a doctors note at me and really didnt care to listen, so now i feel in a rut i dont want to tell any family they think im being a 'drama queen' as they put it,
any suggestions on what i could do?
x

Comments

• Options
    You could ask to see a different doctor.
  • Options
    i suppose, but the funny thing is she was the one that prescribed me to see a counseller when i was self harming, i dont want them to think im just being silly, but i need help.
  • Options
    thankyou for replying to my post,
  • Options
    You're not being silly. You obviously want some help. I'm sorry that that doctor didn't take you seriously.
  • Options
    i think im going to ring and ask for an appointment with another doctor tomoro, i just cant sleep at the minuite, its scary not knowing whats going on im always very nervous at the moment,
  • Options
    Bi-polar is bandied around a lot these days. I'm cerainly not saying you're not bi-polar, but it's not a very common condition.

As for the depression, well you don't have to suffer from depression to be depressed. Lots of mental health problems have an element of drepression to them, also a lot of physical illnesses.

The way your doctor treated you was fucking disgusting and i would seriously consider making a complaint against her. Was she a locum ?

The best thing to do would be to register with another doctor, see what they say and get a referal to a psychiatric team.
  • Options