Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Choices - more study ?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I graduated in 2007 with BA Hons in Management and Sport (this included work experience) - however, I have been unable to get a job in anything mildly related since then.

I have been floating around doing odd jobs - but I really want to start my career!!

I'm thinking of going back to study a skill - technical theatre - but that means I will be studying til i'm about 26 and so will have to start my career then, but at least it'll be a career and not a job.

I know the situation with jobs is unreal at the moment. I applied for an admin job and so did 138 other people!!!!!! I cant even get a basic job so i've decided a skill is the way forward...

Anyone got any words of wisdom...

I'm really just worried about starting my career so late, and the risk i'll be taking financially as I will have to get a loan (or my parents will) to fund my 2nd degree (or perhaps foundation degree depending on what I decide)...

I'm just a bit stuck... I am so sick of not having a job though, my brain is turning to mush!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:no:
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    26 isn't that old to start a career, so don't worry too much about that :)

The main thing I think that you need to work out is *what* you want to do, rather than just picking a random skill that you will go to uni and study for 3 years. How do you know that, when you finish a second degree, you won't be back where you started?