Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

just found out my partner is a self harmer

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi, i've never written on a forum before but i really need some help and advise and maybe a friend. I feel like i have let my partner down as he has been self harming for the 6 years we have been together and longer before that and i knew nothing about it. How can that happen, it makes me angry at myself how can you not notice that going on? When i notice any cuts he said it was the cat.
He thought i would leave him but that didn't even cross my mind, i kept calm and asked him if he wanted to stop. He said he wasn't sure which i can except, i might not like it but i understand it's not going to just stop now i've been told. He says he feels like a freak for doing it which i think means he does want to stop. I know it's not me causing this but in a way that feels worse because if its not my fault i cant fix it. He's always suffured with deppression in varying degrees. I said that if he wants me to go to the doctor with him then i would, he's scared they're going to lock him up and he doesn't want to be put on pills. It happens when i go to bed and he's on his own, i've asked him to come and wake me if he thinks he's going to cut himself but i'm not sure he will.:confused:

Comments

• Options
    Well i am a slef harmer. And you can tell him that they won't lock him up. The Doctors will probably refer him to a Therapist. And no he wont just stop like that but it should get a bit easier for him now. Knowing thst you know hw isn't carrying a secret so that makes it a bit easier for him. All you can do it be there for him when he needs you the best you can be. And try your best to understand and not get angry. Try and get him to get help but don't push him or it could make it worse.