Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Student Loans while living abroad

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi Guys

Ive been living in Germany since I graduated from university in 2003 and havent paid a penny back to the SLC for my student loans.

Has anyone got any experiences or advice with this?

Should I continue to dodge my payments as the SLC cant/havent found me yet?

Will they ever find me and demand the money from me?

What would happen if they do?

Is there any truth in the myths that the loan could be deleted after X number of years?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    The loan gets deleted when you reach retirement age (65 years old) if any is outstanding.

You should be paying it back even though you live abroad if you meet the usual requirements e.g. are earning over a certain amount (if you are earning euros or another currency then apply the current exchange rate as applicable). The amount that you need to be earning to be obliged to start payments depends on the terms and conditions of the student loan as stated when you took the loan out - for my sister (who started university in 1999) the limit was £15,000 but for me (I started in 2003) it had come down to £10,000 pa.

You are likely to be hit with a large demand when you come back to the UK if you don't get in touch with them sooner rather than later. Also you are acquiring interest on your loan the whole time.
  • Options
    Randomgirl wrote:
    Also you are acquiring interest on your loan the whole time.

I thought loan rate was based on inflation and you only pay back what you borrowed?
  • Options
    Halloween wrote:
    I thought loan rate was based on inflation and you only pay back what you borrowed?