Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Car Insurance

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Whats the difference between comprehensive and third part, fire & theft?

I'm not very good with this sort of thing! I'm just looking at how much the insurance for a smart car would be :chin:

Comments

• Options
    Third party, F&T means you're covered if your car is stolen or catches fire. It also covers the expense to someone else's car if you cause the damage. It does not cover your own car for damage

Comprehensive means you're covered for third party, fire and theft plus any damage done to your car be it your fault or someone else's
  • Options
    Ahhh thank you! I normally leave all this to the bf but as he's not here I have to cope on my own :crying:

So I'm guessing comprehensive is the better one to go for if it covers your car too!
  • Options
    It's not always better, you have to think about how what's best for your car. For a new one then you'll want comprehensive to cover any damages and keep your car in good condition. For an old banger it's less important because you can live with superficial damage, or simply scrap the car and not lose out.

Also for new/young drivers the excess on comprehensive is often quite high - mine was about £400 in my first year. That would cover a lot of damages without even going through the insurance! If your excess is more than the car's worth its not worth going for comp.

For a smart car I would though. The good thing is that you get piece of mind that no matter what happens your excess is the most you'll have to pay
  • Options
    Thank you!

I'm only having a quick look, I can't afford a car while I'm still at uni I'm just looking as I might treat myself when I qualify and manage to find a nursing job!

For now I'll have to stick to sharing my bf's old fiesta :(
  • Options