Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Council Tax

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
How does it work?

I am exempt as I am a student, however I live with two professionals.
Was wondering do you get a bill or do you have to pay without being given a notification of some sort?

Comments

• Options
    You phone the council when you move in and they will send you a bill.
  • Options
    If you are responsible for paying then you need to contact your local council to set an account up. You may need proff from the uni to claim the 25% discount
  • Options
    To clarify what purplebutterfly said, the others may be entitled to a small discount because of your student status, but the Council will need to see proof of this (which you can get from the registry in the form of a certificate) to allow it. You just need to pop down to the town hall to show it to them. Most boroughs have really clear guidelines on [insertboroughhere].gov.uk.
  • Options
    Cool! Thanks guys.

Only asking cause we haven't sorted it yet, and I don't wanna get into trouble regarding it all - especially not when I shouldn't be paying. But yeah, will get a certificate from the school on monday so I can hand it in.
  • Options
  • Options
    Fuck. This is a shit situation, I can see it causing problems already. Would have been a lot cheaper and more central to live in halls :(
  • Options
    I just have to say . .