Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

I'm broke but all the things say I can't get benefits...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
So I graduated a few months ago and got my first job... yadda yadda yadda some issues (not gross misconduct or anything, ethical issues and some illness that I can't even claim back for), they were going to sack me, but I had another job coming up and I quit. Now "in between jobs". I have part-time work amounting to around £63-£100 a week and I'm broke.

So I start a new job tomorrow, on a 3 week trial. It's around £250 a week which is great but I can't afford my rent this week. If I pass the initial 3 week trial, it goes up to £300 per week and I can earn comission. However that is a MAYBE and not a definite.

I've got a telephone appointment with the council on Tuesday about benefits and my council tax arrears (not to mention my credit card arrears and my ever increasing overdraft) and I've been doing a bit of research.

It seems I'm not entitled to anything.... whatsoever.... which is a load of crap because I can't even afford to feed myself at the moment. I haven't gone out, I've not gone anywhere... I've been working my arse off to find a new job, been working the online cashback sites scrimping to get some cash together to buy groceries, sold a load of my stuff on ebay and on the market. And yet I get nothing.