Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

The ol' black dog (a rant)

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I haven't done this for a while but...

I'm having a really shitty time with my depression at the moment. I was ill last week (PMT can exacerbate the depression, and there was one day when I couldn't leave my room without bursting into tears; then I had period pains the next day and couldn't move for 4 hours) and I have insomnia which is stopping me from being able to concentrate.

Stupidly, I thought I could still get my essay (due today) in on time because I didn't account for the fact I've never written a Classics essay before and I don't know how it's done. I've turned an archaeology essay out in 6 hours before but for some reason I can't do it now. I've emailed my tutor. I know I'm an idiot for not asking for an extension sooner but now I've stuffed myself and maybe a unit of my degree because I was scared to keep asking for help.

I'm an idiot. On top of all that I've been self-harming again and (thanks in part to being stupid enough to start the demonising fat people thread - this is not a dig at anyone who was honestly trying to contribute to the debate only those who kept insisting it's "not attractive" for no reason except their own sense of aesthetics) making myself sick. I can keep the bulimia from my girlfriend until I get the courage to tell her myself but she found out I was self-harming and I feel dreadful.

This shouldn't be happening. It's my final year, all I want is to be in control enough to finish my degree but the pressure is only making things worse.

OK, end of. Sorry if that's whiny and selfish I just had to have somewhere to vent.

Comments

• Options
    C FunkC Funk Deactivated Posts: 163 Helping Hand
    Hi piccolo,

Sorry to hear you're not feeling too well at the moment.