Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Work Related Stress - any advise?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi Guys,

Here goes…..

Last Thursday my doctor signed me off work for a week citing “stress related problem”. I have been feeling terrible over the last couple of weeks; stressed, tired, anxious, short-tempered, unable to concentrate – I know the reasons why (all work-related) and have tried to address them over the past few months but just haven’t been able to! I had diagnosed myself about 6 months ago with stress and anxiety – but had managed to get over that bout after taking a long holiday! I don’t want to feel like this – I’m only 22 for pity’s sake! I want to be enjoying myself and be happy!

I won’t tell you exactly what my profession is and who I work for. But to try and put it into perspective for you, I am working on a construction project similar to that of Wembley Stadium – except it’s not a stadium and the contract value isn’t quite £700million – but it is a highly stressful project that is behind schedule and over budget! Anyway, you could say I work as an accountant for this company managing some high value accounts.

Due to the problems in the job and my inability to say “NO” to taking on more work and responsibility – I was getting to the point of working late in the evenings and at weekends to try and get on top of everything – only problem is this did not seem to be working! I asked my line manager for additional help – another person more senior to come in and give me a hand. At first, his attitude was “there is no one else, tough luck”. But when someone became available he was sent along to help me….